I’m back!

And you have no idea how relieved I am to say that lol

My lovely DH has set up my new computer and all I have left now to install is Adobe Creative Suite… but I’m currently contemplating upgrading to CS5. Hopefully I’ll come to a decision (and a compromise with DH! hehe) soon.

Unfortunately nothing from my hard drive was salvageable… it was completely dead. But that’s okay as I had almost everything backed up to our RAID server (remind me how blessed I am to have an IT geek for a husband).

Add to the computer woes the fact that we had a once-in-50(or was it 30?)-year-flood here in Brisbane, and it’s been an interesting holiday period!

We were very lucky in that we live on a hill and were unaffected by the massive flooding (although the yard and deck got pretty soggy from all the rain), especially as the very next suburb over was almost completely submerged. They are still working to get electricity back in that area, and even with the small amount of rain we’ve had since, there is still a slight brown tinge to everything. It’s extremely surreal. One one hand, things are back to ‘normal’ with supplies now able to get through and kids starting back for the new school year, but on the other, there are people and businesses still cleaning out muck and trying to sort through stuff. DH has had the last few weeks off and has been helping where he can and I’ve been gathering up what stuff I can and getting them to people who need it. Tomorrow both kids are back at school and then it’s Australia Day on Wednesday.

So, I hope to post at least once or twice this week and get back to normal posting routine next week. Thank you all so much for sticking with me and for those who have sent such sweet messages.

Here’s to a fresh start and a great 2011! 🙂

4 Responses to “I’m back!”

  1. kelly Says:

    Hey, i never knew you were a brisbanite – same here! We are at Aspley.
    Good to hear you have an IT geek for a husband, i call mine a Nerd Burger or Geek Face LOL.
    Happy Australia Day for Wed!!
    xx
    kel

  2. Bridget Says:

    So glad you are back and to hear that you guys made it thru the flooding. 🙂

  3. deborah Says:

    welcome back!
    sorry’bout the pooter woes, and flooding
    (my BFF lives in brisbane too, or around there somewhere)
    Happy New Year!

  4. Em Says:

    Welcome back and thanks for the freebies!

Leave a Reply

